Quantcast
Channel: Fighting | BoardGameGeek
Viewing all articles
Browse latest Browse all 1367382

Reply: Dice Throne:: Rules:: Re: Rules FAQ

$
0
0

by eflin

[hr]

THE BARBARIAN

[hr]

1) If the Barbarian takes fatal damage, but heals in their defensive roll, do they still die (ie. does the healing happen concurrently with the damage or after the damage is done)?
They do not die. The two effects are applied at the same time
Source: https://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/1906331/heal-question-b...

2) When performing an ability like the Barbarian’s Overpower can you play Roll Phase Action cards to effect the 3 dice you roll once the ability is confirmed?
Yes you can since you are still in the offensive roll phase. Note so can your opponents!

3) A player is stunned. Once I start my second roll phase can they alter the second Offensive Roll?
Yes because they are no longer stunned once you start the second Offensive Roll Phase. They are only stunned until the start of your new Offensive Roll

4) Does stun activate immediately or after the defense roll? For example, if an opponent has an ability that states they can roll two hearts to prevent an incoming status effect, then would this allow him to block stun, or does stun activate before they can defend?
It comes down to the wording. If the stun is listed BEFORE dealing damage then the stun happens first. If the damage happens and the card says THEN apply stun... then they get their defensive roll and could block it.

For example... Barbarians Crit Bash says inflict stun, deal 5 damage. So the stun happens as the damage is done so you get no defensive roll. You only get the defensive roll an response to damage but you are already stunned which cancels out your defensive roll. The same is true with the Barbarians ultimate ability.

It's an odd nuance though since if it was any other status ailment you could prevent it since it happens at the same time as the damage. Stun is unique in that it prevents the defensive roll so if it happens at the same time (not clearly after) then you don't get the defensive roll.

Just know it's a fringe case and perhaps it is simpler to just think of Stun as the exception that can't be prevented (hopefully MBG just doesn't make any stun abilities that would break this template)


5) If you have Thick Skin II in play ("On (H)(H) you may also prevent 1 incoming status effect.") what happens when you get hit with abilities like Moon Elf's Demising Shot II ("Inflict Targeted. Then deal 6 damage.")?
You can prevent the status effect. Note that Demising Shot II originally was an exception do to the "THEN" wording... but with season 2 the creators confirmed this was not the intent and that it too could be prevented:

Source:
https://m.facebook.com/groups/326715184496643?view=permalink...


Old answer for reference:
[o]The specific example given is actually the exception. Typically you CAN prevent the effect. However for Demising Shot II uou cannot prevent targetted. You only do a DEF roll in response to damage... and the way Demising Shot is worded the status effect happens and THEN (keyword then) damage is dealt. So the status effect is already in place before the damage is dealt.

Note many attacks this is not true of and you could defend the status effect... but in this case it is very clear the status effects happens first and THEN the damage is dealt. If it happened at the same time you could prevent it[/o]

[hr]

THE MONK

[hr]

1) For the Combo Strike it states deal 6 dmg and roll 1 die. Then it list what happens with the die result. The last item indicates gain 1 evasive or cleanse for EACH Lotus. But there can only be one since only one die was rolled. Correct?
The upgraded version of Combo strike lets you roll more than one die and the language is the same across all the levels of that ability for consistency.
Source: https://www.reddit.com/r/DiceThrone/comments/5vyiad/sticky_r...

2) With the monks defense roll, if I am currently at max Chi can I spend it all, then do my Defensive roll, and then spend any new Chi gained to block additional damage?
Yes. Chi can be used instantly whenever you like. The only exception is you can't use newly acquired Chi to deal damage on the same turn it was acquired (this is noted on player leaflet under the description for Chi). It can be used immediately for defense though.

Note: you CAN use your old chi to deal damage before gaining more Chi (for example if you had max chi and rolled a small/large straight)

Source: https://www.reddit.com/r/DiceThrone/comments/5vyiad/sticky_r...
https://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/1903384/monks-defensive...

3) Can Monk use Chi to lessen undefendable damage?"
Undefendable just means the player doesn't get a defense roll. Chi can still be used... UNLESS it was an Ultimate combo that caused it. The defensive player cannot alter anything about an Ultimate once the offensive roll has been accepted.
Source: https://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/28232290#28232290

4) Can I use Chi to prevent damage dealt to my ally or increase damage dealt by my ally?
No. It can only be used on the player with the token (normally this is the Monk but if you got one via a card like transference then you can use it on yourself)

5) Fist of Tranquility states "Gain 2 Chi & Evasive". Is this 2x Chi and 1x Evasive, or 2x Chi and 2x Evasive?
2x Chi and 1x Evasive.
Source: https://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/27926726#27926726

6) I use Fist Strike III but my opponent blocks all the damage. Does he still get Knocked Down (because I rolled 3 of a kind)?
Yes. Just because he nullified the damage it does not mean other parts of the ability (in this case knock down) don't get applied. So he got knocked down but wasn't hurt by it.

7) Can Chi be used to prevent poison/burn damage during upkeep?
Yes. Chi applies to any type of damage (except reducing ultimate abilities)

8) If I use Serenity III and gain Evasion from it, then can I spend it right away to avoid the damage that triggered that defensive roll?
Yes. Status tokens may be used at any time at instant speed. Much like if you had an evasive token before the attack you could still do your defensive roll before deciding whether or not to use the evasive token. (see answer to question K3)

9) If I use Serenity III... and say I roll "zen", "fist", "fist", "palm" and "lotus". I'm unsure if I'm allowed to use the same die multiple times for different abilities on Serenity III.
* One outcome would get me "Gain 1xZen", "Deal 1xFist dmg", "inflict knockdown" and "gain evasive or cleanse" if i'm allowed to use dice multiple times.
* The other outcome would be that I had to choose between the ablilities and could get "Gain 1xZen" and "Deal 1xFist dmg"


Since it is all part of the same ability you get it all if you satisfy the conditions. You don't have to pick one of them like you do when selecting an ability in the offensive roll phase. So in your example you gain one chi, deal two damage, inflict knockdown, AND gain your choice of evasive or cleanse

10) If I use Chi to add damage to an undefendable attack is that added damage also undefendable or could that be defended against?
The added damage maintains the same properties as the original attack it is enhancing. So in this case it would also be undefendable. It increases the damage done by the original ability... not add new damage.

11) When using Lotus Strike, if I have no chi when I activate it, can I spend 2 chi from the chi I just gained by using the ability to make it undefendable? Or do I have to have 2 chi prior to using the ability so that I can make it undefendable?
No you cannot use the Chi you just got to make it undefendable. Nor could you use it to increase the damage you dealt.

When activating an ability you read top to bottom. On this one it specifically says deal 5 damage THEN gain the chi. So you have already dealt the damage when you get the chi


12) When is the latest that I can apply Chi offensively. Should it be at the end of the Offensive Roll phase, end of Targeting roll phase, or after their Defensive roll phase?
In Season 1 this was not inherently clear so people handled this a little differently (my group for example said it had to happen before the actual defensive roll was made).

In season 2 the phases are broken down much clearer (refer to pg 12 and 13 in the rules). So the last chance to play this type of card is step 5 of the defensive roll phase




[hr]

THE MOON ELF

[hr]

1) The Moon Elf defense says that 2 feet is half damage, does that mean 4 feet is complete defense or is it half then half of the half?
Neither. If 2 or more feet are rolled the damage is halved. Additional feet (even if 2 additional) do nothing.

The general rule is that if it says "on" it means the minimum number of symbols required, if it says "x" it can be done more than once.

Source:https://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/1906275/moon-elf-defensive-question

2) For the Targeted status effect... When does the +2dmg bonus get added?
It would be immediate. Any cards or tokens are instant effects that immediately resolve.

Further, on future attacks the damage is added before any DEF rolls.


[hr]

THE PALADIN

[hr]

1) For the Paladins Holy Light ability, do you heal +1 for every heart after the activation cost or the total hearts rolled
The total rolled. In general any ability that is worded "1xsymbol" is one per symbol regardless of ability activation cost. If it would just be one it would only show the symbol not the 1x
Source: https://www.reddit.com/r/DiceThrone/comments/5vyiad/sticky_r...

2) When I use retribution is it half the incoming damage before or after my defensive roll/prevention effects (like protect)?
It is half the original incoming damage. So you can prevent a bunch of it still after using retribution and end up taking less than you send back at the original attacker!
Source: https://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/1905098/retribution

3) Again on retribution... if I do 9 damage from Retribution and 1 from Defense... is it two separate attacks or one combined for 10? Specifically if someone uses an evasive token would they evade the 9 Retribution Token damage or 10 damage from both the Ret Token and Defensive ability?
It's all combined. So they would avoid all ten if successful with the evade token

4) Can I then use a Protect token after Retribution to take half the damage? Or does that make the retribution also deal less damage?
You can choose the order... so you can do retribution first... let it resolve... then protect yourself and get the best of both effects.

5) For the level one/base defensive ability. Does it mean that if at least 1 (or more) swords are rolled, then deal 1 damage, even if more than 1 sword is rolled?
Yes. The general rule is that if it says "on" it means the minimum number of symbols required, if it says "x" it can be done more than once.

So for the base level ability it doesn't matter how many swords you roll. As long as you roll one you do one damage. You'll note the L2 ability changes this to read 1x (sword) dmg. For this upgraded version you deal one damage per sword rolled

Source: https://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/1905038/paladin-defense...

6) A defensive ability gives me a Protect token. May I use that immediately to prevent the same attack that caused the defensive ability?
Yes. Status tokens may be used at any time at instant speed. Much like if you had an evasive token before the attack you could still do your defensive roll before deciding whether or not to use the evasive token. (see answer to question K3)

7) If I deal 6 damage and add critical strike to it... but the opponent then reduces the damage by 2 (for example a Monk spends 2 Chi tokens)... does that make my base damage go to 4 (which is less than 5 and does not activate Critical Strike) or is the critical strike locked in so it reduces the damage to 8 (from ten)?
Season 2 clarifies (on pg 14 of rule book) that damage reduction is always on the cumulative total of damage dealt. So the Critical Strike alters the damage number to be 10 which is then reduced to 8 by the Chi.

8) Can my opponent remove a crit token (for example with the card Buh Bye) after I conclude my Offensive Roll but before I have the chance to use the Crit token?
Yes they can but only if you gained the token from your current Offensive Roll. They can’t prevent you from gaining the token but they do get a chance to use cards such as "Buh Bye" before you can activate the token. So basically they can respond to you gaining the token to clear it before you could then use it. If you already had the token then technically they still beat you to the punch but the proper order of things is they do it before your die roll even resolves.

9) When using Divine Defense III I roll 'Helmet+Helmet+Prayer' so I gain a Protect token. May I use that token BEFORE I prevent the 2 or more damage... or do I have to resolve the dice roll and prevent the damage first?
The reduction from the helmets happens first because it is part of the Defense Roll resolving which gives you the protect token. So it happens at the same time you gain the token.

10) When using Divine Defense it says "Prevent 1x Helmet + 2x Heart Dmg". How does this work with multiples?

Roll the dice.

For each heart, reduce the damage you take by 2.
For each helmet, reduce the damage you take by 1.
(You cannot reduce damage below 0; that is the difference between "Prevent" and "Heal.")

Examples: Let's say you are receiving 5 points of damage from an opponent.
* If you roll 1 sword, 1 heart and 1 helmet, the damage you take is reduced by 3; you take 2.
* If you roll 3 helmets, the damage you take is reduced by 3; you take 2.
* If you roll 3 hearts, the damage you take is reduced by 6; you take no damage (you cannot reduce damage below 0).


11) When you use the DEF ability and roll a prayer can you use the gained CP immediately to play a card that would prevent more incoming damage? Or has the ability fully resolved?
Much like Monks Chi yes you can. You gain the CP/Chi in step 4 of the Defensive Roll Phase (pg 13 of season 2 rule book) and have one final chance to use them in step 5 of the DRP.

12) Tithe II states that ""Whenever you successfully activate an ability during your Offensive Roll Phase that utilizes at least one [HAND], gain 1 CP". Does that only take into account the activation requirement of the offensive ability, or does it include also subsequent rolls that the ability might trigger, like Righteous Combat rolling a [Hand] as part of the text? How about for a straight?
It does not include any subsequent rolls that are part of the ability (like the 2 dice rolled for righteous combat). It very clearly says when you successfully activate the ability... and you have not rolled those additional dice at that point since those extra dice occur AFTER the ability activates.

Regarding straights... the only case it would not apply is if you rolled a small straight with 1,2,3,4 and the 5th die is a 6. Since the 6 is not part of the activation it is thus not utilized when activating it. So you would not get the CP. All other straight rolls would include the 6 in the straight and clearly trigger tithe II


[hr]

THE PYROMANCER

[hr]

1) What is the deal with Fire Mastery and why does it cool off?
Fire Mastery is a token that allows abilities on her board to do more damage or to fuel cards that she might have. On its own (for example if a different player transferences one to themselves) it would do nothing besides cool off and go away.

If you read the individual abilities on the player board you can see how fire mastery can really add more damage to them (for example combustion is often the finisher for a Pyromancer)

The cooling off is important because she must keep herself running hot. So the important part of Fire Mastery, when viewed in conjunction with her board, is that it powers up abilities. And is a depleting resource that must be regained to stay "hot".

Source: https://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/27893049#27893049

2) If I deal 2 collateral damage to all opponents in a 2v2 game, then would the other team take 4 undefendable damage?
Yes each player takes the damage amount so their shared life pool would see double that. See answer to question K6 above

3) If I use Burning Soul II and roll (4) fiery souls (fives)... do I inflict burn AND increase my max fire mastery?
Yes you get both effects as you satisfied both conditions. To further clarify:
On 2 Souls you gain 4 fire mastery and do 2x collateral damage to all opponents

On 3 Souls you inflict burn, gain 6 fire mastery and do 3x collateral damage to all opponents

On 4 souls you inflict burn, increase fire mastery stack by 1, Gain 8 fire mastery, and deal 4x collateral damage to all opponents


4) The Pyromancers DEF ability does damage to the attacker frequently. Do they get to roll their DEF dice too then?
No. You only get to roll the DEF dice/abilities if you receive damage from an Offensive Roll Phase. The damage can be prevented though by others means (Monks Chi and/or cards for example).
Source: Rulebook

5) On "Molten Armor III" defense card, it says "Deal 1x Flame" damage. Later on, it says "On Flame / Starburst, inflict Burn". Do you count the same "Flame" result twice (same dice causes damage AND combines with another dice to cause Burn), or do you have to choose whether the dice causes damage OR combines with another to cause Burn?

On same card/ability - same symbol provides 1 x Damage and 1 x Fire Mastery. Do you get one of each (per dice), or do you choose which to collect?

If it’s all part of the same ability, then it would count for both. So the flame can count for each part of the ability.

For the second part you get one of each per dice roll (don’t need to pick)

Source: https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/roxley/dice-throne-seas...

6) Scorch the Earth does 12 damage to one opponent and then 2 collateral damage to all opponents. Does this include the opponent who took 12 already? Do they take 12 or 14?
They are included and take 12 + 2 = 14 damage
Source: https://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/28495584#28495584



[hr]

THE SHADOW THIEF

[hr]

1) At what point does enter the shadows end? For example if you enter the shadows as a result of your defensive roll does it end at
It ends once you complete a full turn with the token. So if you receive it mid turn (or someone else's turn via a defensive roll) then it persists until the end of your next turn.

To elaborate:
You can enter the shadows 4 ways.

a- playing a card that immediately makes you enter the shadows.
b- a defensive roll that forces you to enter the shadows.
c- Ultimate ability concludes with the thief entering the shadows.
d- You trigger shadow dance ability.

For each case...

a- It ends at the end of your next turn (even if used during your current turn
b- Ends at the end of your next turn
c- Same as a
d- Same as a

Source: https://www.reddit.com/r/DiceThrone/comments/5vyiad/sticky_r...

2) Does enter the shadow persist if you don't get a full turn?
Yes
Source: https://www.reddit.com/r/DiceThrone/comments/5vyiad/sticky_r...

3) When in Free for All(or even 2v2+), if the Shadow Thief triggers shadows, shadows then lasts all the way until the end of his next turn. If someone targets him with an ultimate during this, does the shadows effect that had already been triggered by a prior player's damage and is now still active protect him from damage? Ex. Shadow Thief gains shadows, next player targets shadow thief which triggers shadows, player after that rolls ultimate and targets Shadow Thief. What happens?
Ultimates ignore all status effects. Nothing can alter or prevent them once the offensive roll is accepted (with the exception that the person performing the ultimate can enhance them with stuff like a crit token or cards... see question K4 for more detail)
Source: https://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/28277127#28277127

4) If Shadow Thief gains the Shadows token but then happens to not be targeted for an entire turn by anything that would trigger it, does it stay with him beyond the end of his following turn since it was never triggered?
He still loses it. Just by having the token you are considered to be under its effect.
Source:https://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/28292969#28292969

5) For Shadow Thief abilities like Insidious Strike that do damage based on CP, do you spend the CP or does it stay?
It stays
Source: https://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/1894741/shadow-thief-cp...

6) Multiple of her skills states "if X was rolled gain Y". Is this on the base roll or do you roll a die after your offensive roll like the Paladin abilities?
The Shadow Thief's abilities tend to be based on your actual offensive roll. Where as the Paladin's abilities you tend to roll another die and see what happens based on that later roll. It's all in the wording

Shadow Thief
"If SYMBOL was rolled then this happens..."

Paladin
"Deal 5 damage and then roll 2 die..." then it lists what you get for the die results.


7) If I am in the shadows but suffer stun (since it only blocks damage not status effects) do I now take damage until the stun clears?
No you do not as long as you had the enter the shadows before the stun would be applied. Stun does not let you do a defensive roll but enter the shadows is a passive ability so it is still on.

Note this is only true if the damage is from an offensive roll phase (which is typically the case)... and if you already had the token. Enter the Shadows only defends against damage from an Opponents Offensive Roll Phase and you would not be able to gain it if you were already stunned.

Finally, NOTHING stops an ultimate (including enter the shadows). So Barbarians ultimate is still going to stun you (and wreck you).


8) If I trigger Enter the Shadows on a DEF roll... can I regain a new one on my offensive roll? Or since I have a stack limit am I still locked into the old one?
If a token cannot stack, then any new instances gained are lost. So you would still have the old one which clears at end of your turn. You would have to have a card that could remove your own token (or transfer it to another player) to then gain the new one (which you would NOT lose at end of turn since it did not trigger).

9) Can someone steal a Shadows token?
Yes. It is a token like anyone other. This is often the best strategy when facing a Shadow Thief

10) Can you Enter the Shadows as a result of Undefendable Damage?
Yes as long as it was a result of an Offensive Roll Phase. Undefendable damage only means the player gets no Defense Roll. It can still be reduced/prevented by other card/tokens/abilities

That said... NOTHING stops an ultimate (including enter the shadows)


11) How does enter the shadows work with opponents defensive abilities? Like Pyromancers Molten Armor?
You would get hit by the damage. Enter the shadows specifically says "Opponents Offensive Roll Phase"

12) What about Enter the shadows and the Artificers bots?
If the bots do damage outside the offensive roll phase of your opponent, then they get through and you take damage

13) In free for all... do I have a targeting roll for abilities like Pickpocket?
Yes. Any offensive roll result that does not target everyone must have a targeting roll

14) If I roll two 6's while using Shadow Defense, then what happens?
You Enter the Shadows (avoiding incoming damage but NOT status effects) and gain sneak attack


-------------------------------------------
Revision Log (only for major updates)
None currently. This is a new version of old FAQ.

Viewing all articles
Browse latest Browse all 1367382

Trending Articles



<script src="https://jsc.adskeeper.com/r/s/rssing.com.1596347.js" async> </script>