Quantcast
Channel: Fighting | BoardGameGeek
Viewing all articles
Browse latest Browse all 1373599

Reply: KeyForge: Call of the Archons:: General:: Re: Well, I loved the game for a while, but official rulings are changing things.

$
0
0

by maurino

dukman wrote:


In your example Tolas and similar cards would trigger in step 3, while the card is still in play, which cannot happen. Or, step 3 would resolve while the card is "in the air" between play and the discard pile, which I also don't think is the case.


well if you see library access and wormhole it's similar: you play wormhole and then "stop" its effect to draw a card due to library. Even in this case a card is "in the air" and you stop its effect instead of fully resolving it.

adding other statues like "in the air" or similar makes thing only more complex instead of easier.

by your scale SoS would not work since the purge is an effect of the "after destroyed" and cannot happen in the same step of discard/purge;
unless you will be very very detailed in order to fit in every single situation a simple scale won't work.


1. Creature is destroyed (by damage or other abilities)
2. Destroyed and after destroyed triggers
3. Destroyed abilities are resolved
4. After destroyed effect that purges or put back in hand or archive are resolved
5. creature go in Discard pile
6. All other After Destroyed effects are resolved

but the above add complexity in a game that has been designed to avoid complexity.

by RAW If a card has a “Destroyed:” ability, the effect resolves automatically when the card is destroyed, immediately before it leaves play.

there's an implicit statement in the sentence. If "destroyed" happens immediately before leaving play, "after destroyed" what should mean? after "destroyed" but before leaving play or after putting the card in the discard pile since the desotry? by Raw the latter (When a card is destroyed, it is placed in its owner’s discard pile) so After destroyed should resolves after putting in discard pile, but at the same it's not possible otherwise cards like SoS would target the creature when it's in the discard pile and should not work.

to it seems Brad oversight where "destroyed" and "after destroyed" are the same moment, just like "play" and "after entering play"; the only difference between the two is that the first affects only the card on which is written, the other affects all cards.


edit: just read the above post; i agree, i think we're saying the same in different ways; if they change the current rule with "instead of" it should work, at least it's a bit clearer. I think we all agree that rules are poorly written on this subject

Viewing all articles
Browse latest Browse all 1373599

Trending Articles



<script src="https://jsc.adskeeper.com/r/s/rssing.com.1596347.js" async> </script>