by bartosh
Sorry for copying this from another thread but it seems really important.
Some abilities and cards (Gimli’s ability, Aragorn’s „Leading the charge” card) use a phrase „after you attack”. What does it mean exactly?
From the Rules:
„To resolve an attack (not only „attack action” but any attack - bartosh) a hero performs the following steps, in order:
12.2 Step 1—Choose Item and Stat
12.3 Step 2—Choose Target
12.4 Step 3—Perform Attack Test
12.5 Step 4—Counterattack:
So it would seem that counterattack is somehow a part of attack and „after you attack” should mean „after counterattack”. The right phrase to do something before counterattack should be „after attack test” (or „after step 3 of attack sequence”). On the other hand, their description of Counterattack:
„AFTER A HERO ATTACKS an enemy group, that enemy group may be able to attack the hero who attacked it.”
So they don’t say „after a hero performs step 3” (or „after a hero performs attack test”) but „AFTER A HERO ATTACKS”. So i still dont know if „after you attack” means „after a hero attacks” (after step 3 of the attack sequence) or „after counterattack” („after step 4 of the attack sequence”).
Gimli’s ability is clearly intended to make his defense strong (he is a guardian after all) so using it after counterattack would seem a bit strange. Also „charge” from „Leading the charge” should be in my opinion one powerful, combined attack instead of two attacks one by one. But perhaps I’m wrong.
I’m still confused.